The National Curriculum for England is structured into several key stages, each corresponding to a specific age group or year group. Here is an overview of the structure of the National Curriculum using the year naming system, starting from Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and progressing to A-levels:

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS):

This stage is for children aged 3 to 5 (Reception Year).

It focuses on the development of key skills and knowledge in areas such as communication, literacy, mathematics, and personal, social, and emotional development.

Key Stage 1 (KS1):

KS1 covers children in Years 1 and 2, typically ages 5 to 7.

Subjects include English, mathematics, science, art and design, computing, design and technology, geography, history, languages, music, and physical education.

Key Stage 2 (KS2):

KS2 encompasses Years 3 to 6, typically ages 7 to 11.

Subjects continue to include English, mathematics, and science, along with the addition of subjects like geography, history, art, ICT, design Thinking, languages, music, and physical education.

Key Stage 3 (KS3):

KS3 covers students in Years 7 to 9, generally ages 11 to 14.

Subjects remain similar but become more specialized, with an emphasis on building a strong foundation in preparation for the next stage of education.


Key Stage 4 (KS4):

KS4 is typically for students in Years 10 and 11, around ages 14 to 16.

This stage focuses on the Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) qualifications, which are assessed through examinations and coursework.

Post-16 Education:

After completing KS4, students can choose to pursue post-16 education, which includes A-levels

A-levels are typically taken in Years 12 and 13 (ages 16 to 18) and are advanced level qualifications that prepare students for university or employment.

The National Curriculum provides a structured and progressive framework for education in England, ensuring that students acquire the necessary knowledge and skills at each stage of their schooling. It offers a broad and balanced education while allowing for specialization as students progress through the key stages. Together, we inspire a lifelong love of learning and prepare our students for a bright and successful future

Learning Overview


At the Creative British School Abu Dhabi, excellence in education meets the National Curriculum for England from Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to A-levels. Our dedicated teachers, specialists in their fields, are committed to nurturing a learning environment that encourages active participation, creativity, and meaningful contributions to the growth of our students.

At the heart of our educational philosophy are these core values


We embrace innovative teaching methods and technology, ensuring our students are prepared for a rapidly changing world



We cultivate responsibility and resilience in our students, equipping them with the determination and adaptability needed to overcome challenges.


Global leadership

 We foster a sense of global citizenship, encouraging students to become responsible, compassionate, and well-informed members of the global community



We celebrate diversity and create an inclusive atmosphere where every student feels valued and respected.